Going to the movies

new cover 1704 front big Book cover 18april

Over the last week or so we have seen an Opera and two movies. We plan to see another film tomorrow. It is a good way to spend surplus time. Some people tell me they are always short of time. That is admirable. Wasn’t there a play  written about a man that had lost his job but pretended to be still employed by catching the same bus he normally did when still working? Was it ‘The Death of a Salesman’ by Arthur Miller?

I spend a fair amount of time behind the computer, mainly writing stuff. I do so mainly out of pleasure. I do have time. You know how it is with writing words down in a sensible order. Retirement for some bring out a long held desire to play golf or bending down to bowl at a club with likewise elderly bowlers all in white pants and white shoes. I am not in that league. Not yet. I prefer writing to sport. I do like walking and walk a lot.

The movie that really digs into the subject of retirement and resulting curmudgeonly is ‘A man called Ove.’ (By the way, Rotten Tomatoes gave it four and half stars.) It is a Swedish movie about a cranky old man who dominates, out of pure chagrin, the housing estate where he lives. He has recently lost his good wife and feels lost and angry. He is plain nasty and gets gratification out of making life miserable for others. He is not really all that bad though.

It rang a bell for me, if only because we too experienced some of the disadvantages of living on a joint-owned development with a Stasi like ‘committee’ in charge of communal parking,  gardening etc. Out of sheer revenge and spite we had our cyclamen stolen not once but twice by one of the committee members. We have since installed CCTV and a solar-alarm.

The movie too has this wonderful mixture of pathos and humour. Go and see it.

The next movie we enjoyed was yesterday’s  ‘Viceroy’s House.’ A real cracker of a movie. Again, Rotten Tomatoes gave it  four and half stars. This is a totally different movie. A spectacular event with just about everything thrown into it. It has India at the feet of Mother England, but not  for long. In 1947 it gained independence, alas with the formation of Muslim Pakistan which was cut off from India. The last Viceroy Mountbatten was give the task to arrange it in a very short time-frame. Ghandi and all that came with it features it this film. The love between a Hindu man and a Muslim girl spins throughout this movie giving it a strong romantic and humane touch. It could easily have turned schmaltz but it did not. The resulting re-settlement of millions of people to and fro  newly formed Pakistan was something I wasn’t aware of.

A great movie.

Tags: , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Going to the movies”

  1. Yvonne Says:

    I do hope A Man Called Ove shows up here in NE Victoria. I’m so glad you liked it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. leggypeggy Says:

    Hope these are still on when we get home.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bkpyett Says:

    Thanks for the film reviews. I shall change our film viewing for tomorrow! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. yeahanotherblogger Says:

    Hi. I liked Ove a lot too. I’ll keep my eyes open for Viceroy’s House.
    Thanks for the tip.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      No worries and welcome. Glad you enjoyed Ove. Frantz is supposed to be a brilliant movie as well. We hope to see it tomorrow but I also have another appointment with the dentist. Not my most favourite appointment.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. bkpyett Says:

    Yes, we’re seeing Viceroy’s House this morning, thanks for the thumbs up!

    Like

  6. shoreacres Says:

    I’ve heard very good things about both those films, but neither is playing here. If I’d read this earlier, and if they were here, I would have gone to see one or both, because it rained all day long. Ah, well.

    But, wait! It occurred to me to go to Amazon, and see what was up over there. Lo and behold, “A Man Called Ove” is included with my Prime membership, and I can watch it any time I wish. I’m glad now I didn’t read your review before now, and that it wasn’t playing here. I just saved some money, and get to watch the film anyway. So thanks for the recommend. After I watch, I’ll let you know what I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      That\s good news, Linda.
      Can’t wait to read your review. How amazing you can watch it just like that. How do you get this movie?
      Do you download it on a TV?

      Like

      • shoreacres Says:

        No, I just watch it on my computer. There’s no need to even download it — it’s a live stream. I just go to Amazon, pick what I want to watch from among their selections, and click the magic button. Since I have a really big computer screen, it works just fine. I’d be out of luck if I needed a tv to view it, since I gave away the televisions some years ago.

        Liked by 1 person

      • gerard oosterman Says:

        That is amazing. Our grandkids do that too. I know this because I get a warning from my provider that I am running out of data.
        It has the advantage that one avoids the pop-corn/ ice cream crowd. The stench of pop-corn really can be off putting when the plot just reaches a most tragic scene.
        It must be such a harrowing experience to go for two whole hours without eating or slurping.

        Like

Leave a Reply

