Potato baked in foil is the only way forward

photochevati sausages

We all know we have to keep going. One way is to keep things simple. It is amazing how quickly things can turn complicated. Sometimes we get churned up and on reflection are amazed how we reacted so badly despite having arrived at an age whereby wisdom is supposed to be our domain. We all plod along the best we are capable of. One way forward in giving respite to anxiety and relief from life’s foibles is through the potato baked in foil. It is not just by accident that the word foible includes foil.

For some weeks now this family has come to realize that what has been dormant for many years in our kitchen drawer, the roll of aluminium foil, is now finally being used to its full potential. It was staring us in the face all the time. This last sentence doesn’t seem to follow the rule of logic. Following rules have never featured very strongly, let alone logic..

There is no getting away from the fact that we have to sustain ourselves. Food is just one item of that sustainability. We have discovered that through the week we eat fish at least twice a week.  After having tried different fishes, it is the salmon cutlets that have won out. We get 4 cutlets each week. They cost about $14.- The salmon cutlets are spread out over 2 days but not consequently. We might have a pasta or a risotto in between, just for variety.

The potato in foil is now so much part of our dietary habit that I felt it my duty to inform you why we feel so strongly about this ‘potato in foil’ discovery. It is delicious and dirt cheap. Let me give you the low-downs on it and it is free. I cut two or three potatoes in quarters or even smaller. This depends on the size of the potato. The bigger the potato the more you cut it. I prefer the Dutch Cream potato, even though I became an Australian some years ago at the Sydney Town-Hall. I had a choice of doing the oath of allegiance on the bible or in the name of the English Queen. I thought it an odd choice but the biscuit and cup of tea afterwards, prepared by the Salvos, repaired my suspicions and anxiety somewhat.( but not totally, even till this day)

I don’t peel the potato but that choice is yours. After having cut the potatoes, I drizzle them with olive oil and sprinkle some pepper, salt and oregano on them. I wrap the potatoes into 2 packages of aluminium foil and leave them for an hour or so. At about an hour and half before eating, I light the outside gas barbeque, put it on low, and put on the  wrapped potatoes. A red capsicum is cut in half and I follow the same procedure by adding some olive oil, pepper, garlic and herbs of choice. This is added to the top of the barbeque plate about 3/4 hour before eating. NO foil around the red capsicum!

In the last ten minutes before eating, the salmon cutlets are fried,. 7 minutes one side with skin crisp and brown, turned around for another few minutes on the other side. All that is left now is to unwrap the potatoes add them on 2 plates with the char-grilled capsicum, salmon cutlets and just eat it all. Slowly does it. It really is a simple dish, nutritious and healthy and with such little effort.

It is the only way forward.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

17 Responses to “Potato baked in foil is the only way forward”

  1. leggypeggy Says:

    It’s a great way forward. Highly recommended by me too.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. shoreacres Says:

    When I still was in grade school and went off to camp, we would cook a dinner whose name I can’t recall — but it involved potatoes, onion, carrots, and ground beef wrapped in foil and cooked in the fire. I’m not sure I’ve ever had anything tastier, although your salmon and foiled potatoes are making me wish it were dinnertime again.

    We used to bake potatoes in foil, and then changed direction, and began simply buttering the skin and roasting them. Any potato’s delicious, of course. Have you ever heard the American expression, “Take an old, cold, tater, and wait?” It was a way of telling kids to stop nagging for dinner. If they were that hungry, they could have a cold potato. It wasn’t very tasty, but it was one way they could sustain themselves.

    Liked by 3 people

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      During the last war and while living in bombed out Rotterdam in Holland during that terrible hunger winter of 1945, we had no potatoes.

      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dutch_famine_of_1944%E2%80%9345

      But, it were the peelings of potatoes with cabbage leaves scrounged around from soup kitchens that kept many alive. I still remember a kind German soldier having pity on me, who gave half a loaf of black bread. A couple of weeks later the war was over.

      You are right, Linda. The potato should claim its rightful place in the world.

      The point of baking them in foil is that the taste of the potato and herbs get locked in and do not get boiled out.

      Like

  3. Yvonne Says:

    It’s the simple things in life that seem the best. Thank you for today’s homemaker’s tip, Gerard Ramsay!

    Liked by 2 people

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      The potato or lack of it has also been responsible of huge migration to other parts of the world. The potato famine in Ireland being one example.
      I am humbled by the association to Ramsay. I am not sure my level of the baked spud will ever reach his heights, but there is still time.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. thetinypotager Says:

    Loved this post 🙂 …. If you’re making potatoes in foil … can strongly recommend bananas in foil, sliced with dark chocolate buttons inside, as desert.

    Liked by 2 people

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, banana in foil will be next. Yesterday, I broke new grounds. I wrapped a large carrot in foil. With baited breath Helvi and I stood around the barbeque waiting for the result to get baked together with the potatoes and capsicum.
      It was a great success. The taste of the carrot was sublime. Should I patent this recipe?

      Liked by 2 people

      • thetinypotager Says:

        Absolutely … I think you’re onto something there 🙂 I’ve never heard of foiled carrots, but I am definitely going to try it in our fire basket next time it’s lit!

        Like

  5. jennypellett Says:

    You can’t under estimate the potato! So many ways to serve them. Baked is a favourite here…lots of butter and cheese, bit of salad….marvellous!

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      The potato could also be seen as the saviour in times of recession or economic downturns. We are all waiting now for the inevitable collapse of the housing market. It will be fast and furious. We should stock up on potatoes now. They stay quite good when stored dry in in sand.

      Your suggestion of adding butter and cheese is tempting. I really like the oregano which we have growing in our herb garden. The shed is used to dry the oregano. Oddly enough, this herb gets stronger when dried.
      Nature is so amazing.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. bkpyett Says:

    Gerard, you remind me of Leunig with your philosophising!
    Love your descriptions of your method. Delicious!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Big M Says:

    My late Dad used to love potatoes in foil. He would even stick ,his potatoes in a neighbour’s fire, tasting the treats late in the evening. I am baking some in the BBQ as I write this. Yes, it could be the way forward.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, Big M.
      Sticking spuds next door would be the ultimate compliment one could make to encourage neighbourly contacts as well as to the potato.
      A good way to break the ice; ‘excuse me madam could I put my potato in your fire?’

      Like

  8. Christine Says:

    I’m late to this potato party.
    Yes, the Dutch Cream and don’t peel.

    My husband likes those really white potatoes. I don’t understand it.
    But tastes vary!

    Thank you for the tip.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      When it comes to potato choices I never interfere, Christine.

      The Dutch cream or Desiree is my choice. Helvi likes firm potatoes which baffles me but I have given up questioning her about it years ago.

      People keen on jumping in relationships should prioritise their potato compatibilities before, not after the wedding.

      Like

Leave a Reply

