Communion with a Frog.

IMG_0688

Milo at peace with the world

 

The event of my friendship with a stingray following me in the water along a stretch of beach at Bendalong was perplexing enough, but yesterday we had a frog visiting us inside our home. How often would a frog end up inside our homes? It would have to be a deliberate choice; surely?

It happened during last evening’s TV hour of Rick Stein’s ‘Venice and Food.’ He seems to be joining several TV cooks combining culture and food, or at least linking food having its origins in making do with whatever was available at earlier less affluent times . Good food is the result of poverty more than wealth. Herbs were added to basic ingredients to make tasty and often nutritious food by peasants. Of course, at least in Venice, the peasants have disappeared or are rich. The real peasants have morphed into hordes of belching tourists.

Last night’s Rick Stein’s tour along Venice’s Grand canals were interspersed with sea-food risottos or pastas dished on mouth-watering steaming plates, all so colourful, with just the right amount of a verdant green sprinkle of parsley, with Venetian sienna accented intonations by a smiling waitress.

When everything was steaming along on TV, I noticed Milo, our much revered Jack-Russell Terrier, carrying something around in his mouth. As it was dark outside I did not think it would be a lizard. During daytime hours, one of the less social acceptable amusements is Milo chasing lizards and performing amputations of their tails. He is totally flabbergasted that there are now two wriggling beings instead of just the previous single one. We don’t encourage him.

I told Milo to drop his pray. He did instantly. On close inspection I thought it might be a young bird. It kept moving about. I lost sight of it in the semi-darkness of our lounge room. We usually spent evenings in subdued lighting. Milo though, all excited, wasn’t about to loose his pray and directed me to this missing little animal hopping about. It had now jumped into our bedroom. I looked and discovered it was a fairly large frog. I tried putting a dish-washer cloth over it. It jumped away before the cloth hit the floor. It had jumped into the bathroom. Perhaps it needed water?

I managed to find it again underneath a rack of towels. This time I covered the frog with a wet towel. I told Helvi about the frog, but she did not seem interested, and kept looking at Venice and listening to Rick Stein’s cooking commentary on the telly. I duly and with some magnanimity carried (proudly) the frog to the other side of the house and to the safety of a tangled Jasmin bush. During the last few years  this jasmin managed to scramble over the paling fence shared by our neighbour. It was also near an outside light which had a crowd of insects buzzing about. I hoped this frog would find a nice morsel as well. It should not just be the domain of Rick Stein. I then took it a small saucer of water.

After the show was over, I urged Helvi to take a look outside at the frog. It was still there and looked happy. As far as it is possible to detect happiness in a frog.

Good boy, Milo. Good boy, for not pulling the tail off a friendly frog.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

18 Responses to “Communion with a Frog.”

  1. Yvonne Says:

    Bravo, signor for saving una rana from Milo. And you missed some of Rick just to do that. Good boy, Gerard. Good boy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kaytisweetlandrasmussen83 Says:

    I can see Milo turns up his nose at Rick Steve’s Venice. Too bad, I’m sure the cooking was better than the frog. But I helped my father gig frogs as a youngster and we had frog legs often that year. Our resident frogs have disappeared along with the crickets in the drought. I miss them.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. shoreacres Says:

    Your tale of Milo’s obsession with lizard tails calls to mind a funny habit my cat developed. I used to give her imitation mice to play with — about 3″ long, and furry, with long tails. I started seeing tail-less, wet mice around the house, so I watched to see what was going on.

    She was carrying the mice in to her water dish, where she’d plop it in, Then, she held it down with her paw until it was waterlogged. At that point, she’d pull it out, bite off the tail, and eat it. When I told the vet about it, he said, “No more mice! Those tails can cause an intestinal obstruction.”

    At least Milo could digest the lizards and frogs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Your cat must have wanted to drown those imitation mice, Linda.
      We had a battery operated mouse that Milo used to enjoy catching and biting it. Yet, this mouse kept on squealing, no matter how hard it got bitten. Milo used to give up only to try the same again later. Helvi, finally chucked it out. It became too frustrating for Milo not being able to conquer and kill this mouse.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. petspeopleandlife Says:

    Whoa, what a story. Milo loves the little creatures of the night. I’m glad that he did not bite into the frog and cause injury. He surely is a good dog, Milo.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jennypellett Says:

    ‘Hoards of belching tourists.’ This cheered me up no end. Rick Stein had turned into a bit of a porker, hasn’t he? I get fed up with watching him stuff his face.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, the en-masse tourism makes many popular places hard to see and enjoy. You see them in Bali. The young clad in Bikini, or showing their breakfasts through their shorts, slouching in thongs, chewing gum and totally indifferent to local culture.
      Then they rush to Pizza Hut or Gloria Jean’s and eat rubbish.
      I don’t mind Stein. I prefer him to the irritating Miss sideway-flirt glancing chocolate pouring cream licking Nigella Lawson. I think many television channels are trying to save on productions and keep re-running old cooking shows.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. rod Says:

    I saw a Stein show recently from Copenhagen, but it didn’t do much for me – except to confirm that I would prefer good food to the latest craze, however artistic it might be to the eye.

    Liked by 2 people

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Have you noticed that the food on wooden boards is dying out? It went fast and furious. No one wanted to be seen eating from normal ceramic plates. No, it all had to be rugged and Mount Everest like on solid wood. I was surprised it came with a knife and fork.
      The small pepper grinders too are now back in fashion instead of the ‘garcon’ going around with a giant pepper-mill.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Curt Mekemson Says:

    Good for you, Rescuer of Frogs. The last thing you would want is one croaking in your bed. That would have caught Helvi’s attention. The light and the bugs reminded me of a night in Africa when the termites (bug-a-bugs) were flying after the first rain and were attracted to a light I had left on outside. I went outside to check and found the neighborhood dogs, our cat, and a half dozen toads scarfing down the termites as fast as they could go. –Curt

    Liked by 1 person

  8. hilarycustancegreen Says:

    I’m happy for the frog. Well done you for going to all that trouble catching it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

