More eggnog from soup bowls with Euthanasia clinics

Almost ThereThe Netherland’s Right To Die Movement for the over seventies has been so successful they must have a serious membership turnover. The latest push is to have Euthanasia clinics available at those retirement homes for ‘clients’ who feel they have an uncooperative doctor to sign the necessary papers.

The Right to Live movement also have a spirited body of opposing members. They are much more likely to keep their membership card. They feel the best way forward to senility is to make old-age homes more jolly. The main problem is that for many, ending up in a retirement home is not all that it is cracked up to be. Sure, some get by with the obligatory visit by children. They put off visiting the old fogey with a brave grin, to once every six weeks or so, despite the offering of a little eggnog with a demitasse spoon. At times it is just not enough to keep the old going. Some of those might wish for a way out, either six feet under ground or up through a chimney of the retort.

The Dutch retirement homes do their very best with lots of bingo, goldfish aquariums, community outings to the manicured garden of a Keukenhof, or Swan Lake concert, the twice weekly fitness events, musical soirees and fashion shows. For the oldies to stick around for a little longer is much to the joy of the Right To Live Movement. Even so, a couple of years ago The Right to Die Movement for the over seventies in The Netherlands collected over forty thousand signatures in no time. There seems to be a challenge in giving people a choice. The cost of retirements is going through the roof so one can see that the Governments world-wide would not be all that opposed to a bill giving people a choice in the matter of leaving the party a bit earlier and get a decent rest in the outback of the ‘never never.’

Just reflecting on how retirement homes in Australia are just riddled with incompetent staff. Worse, they now seem to draw on murderers filling vacancies. The oldies are left to rot in their beds.http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-07-25/secret-camera-captures-nursing-home-attempted-suffocation/7624770
I would not like to end up like this poor old man either.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-09-27/man-dies-after-nursing-home-staff-fail-to-properly-treat-wounds/7877820

And then last week a man was charged with the killing of three old people with overdosing them on insulin. He would text his mates alerting them on a future date when the next one would get the fatal needle.http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-08-31/summitcare-alleged-killer-sent-text-predicting-deaths-court-told/7793484

So, really it seems a neck on neck race with either being given a choice to exit peacefully at own will, or look carefully at the needle or medication that nurse might be give you next when in need. I would not fit in with bingo, or fitness classes either and will probably end up asking for the eggnog in a soup bowl and given a large spoon.

That is enough gloom. I’ll write something more cheerful next time. Gerard.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

18 Responses to “More eggnog from soup bowls with Euthanasia clinics”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    Uh-oh. I’m turning 70 this month. Whatever shall I do? Is it time to check out, or should I just drag myself through a few more years?
    Hmmm… I believe I’ll take the third option!

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      The Setting Sun, Eventide, The Final Journey, Autumnal delights, are some of the names used to entice the elderly.
      Oh, Linda. I can hear the endless natter on ailments, the weather and what’s on the menu…The speculation on why Mrs Kensington has yet to arrive at the dinner table; ‘she did look a bit pale yesterday.’
      I’ll take the third, the fourth and all other options first too.

      Like

  2. Dorothy brett Says:

    Gerard, at the moment none of us is ready to take advantage of the Right to Life Movement. Surely you agree.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lifecameos Says:

    I have two very unfriendly relatives of my own generation who might be very interested in my right to die. Quite scary potential there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Oh dear, we all get relatives not always of own choosing.
      I hope they stay calm.

      Your last poem is so enlighteningly beautiful.
      I copy a part.

      ” In lightly brushed water colours
      seven geese pad along a
      leafy lane on orange feet
      with orange beaks held high.
      Beside it gentle strokes
      portray a goose with paddle
      feet toes pointing inward.”

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Retirement Living, a few Reblogs | auntyuta Says:

    […] https://oosterman.wordpress.com/2016/10/03/more-eggnog-from-soup-bowls-with-euthanasia-clinics/ […]

    Liked by 1 person

  5. auntyuta Says:

    https://auntyuta.com/2016/10/03/retirement-living-a-few-reblogs/

    Hi Gerard! Your blog reminded me of some blogs I wrote a few years ago. In March 2012 you read my ‘fictional’ story and commented to it. Maybe, you do remember some of it?

    On my just published reblog page I referred to your above blog.

    My wish: Hopefully for myself no requirement for a Nursing Home, not ever! But: “Que Sera, Sera (Whatever Will Be, Will Be)

    In any case I am not for promoting Euthanasia.

    Supporting aged pensioners is going to become more and more important because our life expectancy has increased very much. In future, hopefully more and more people are going to find employment in aged care, not only for well off pensioners but for all needy pensioners!

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, dear Uta, I remember reading it. It is a good post. My mum had very good care, right till the end at almost 96.

      I would like to keep on living independently and unassisted. If I can’t anymore, then it would be nice to have a choice of ending it on my own still lucid terms…

      Of course, reaching that stage one could well wish differently.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. petspeopleandlife Says:

    I’m with you about living in that dreaded nursing home. Some are good and others are not. My sis is in a “pretty good one” and I visit almost every day. She has been there 2 months now and I’ve missed 7 times thus far. It is a lonely place and I stay 2-4 hours each visit. My sis is lucid and very sharp. Just can’t get her brain to move her feet despite therapy but she has improved a lot. I’m hoping her feet will walk again.

    Liked by 2 people

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Nice that you can visit your sister. The places in Holland for the elderly are also under strain and the Government is closing a lot of them down. Staff are given the sack and new trainees are paid 5000 euros a year to wash the shrivelled genitals and empty bed pans while the big managers are paid 50 times that salary after spending 40.000 euros on upgrading their offices.

      The best is to hang on and remain independent as long as possible. I doubt whether the neighbours in this compound would be keen to assist us in our dotage.

      It is funny, but when a tap is turned on it seems to connect to my bladder and I have to go to (hurriedly) the toilet. What else is in store?

      Liked by 1 person

      • petspeopleandlife Says:

        Yes, I have the same worries and I plan on seeing an attorney to see what needs to be done with my few property holdings so that the nursing home and government does not get it all. Here, we have Medicaid and one is permitted to keep one dwelling their home), one car and 2K in the bank. The rest must be spent down on your care and upkeep at the old folk’s home until you are left wit the bare essentials.

        If you are having bladder problems cut back on coffee and tea and get an ultrasound or MRI if your prostrate. That is of upmost importance.

        Liked by 1 person

      • gerard oosterman Says:

        I have two coffees a day, hardly ever tea. The bladder seem to have a life of its own.
        No sooner do I turn the key in the door or hear water rushing- by, and I have to run to the toilet, barely making it in time. One reason I will never visit Niagara Falls. I had all sorts of tests done a bit more than a year ago. In Australia they call it a ‘culture’ test. Who says we are lacking in culture?
        I hope that you will be able to stay at home and independent as long as possible.

        Like

  7. kaytisweetlandrasmussen83 Says:

    Do any of us know what dire placement our kids may devise for us? Better be nice to them or you will end up in a facility. I suppose some people enjoy those places, and listening to all the daily ailments. Maybe everyone should begin making lists of things to complain about.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, Kayti. Better be prepared. Many oldies spend up big so as not having to hand it over to the government. We tend to eat out a bit more often, even so, our frugal ways of the past still means we might have to start thinking of squandering money on world cruises or order a trip to outer space and back. I believe Virgin Airways are planning space tourism and for a cool $100.000.- pp one can book a ticket. I wonder what sort of food they would dish up. Being weightless in space I can see myself trying to grasp a nice piece of eye- fillet floating by.
      It never stops.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. hilarycustancegreen Says:

    I would just like the opportunity to exercise control, but at the moment I would either have to emigrate or have loadsamoney (to get to Switzerland).

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, a small cottage on the Swiss lakes would be nice, a couple of helpers and a gardener. I noticed previously named ‘retirement homes’ changed to ‘care-homes’ but are now called ‘market oriented individually catered care facility.’

      Like

Leave a Reply

