The long lost Leek. (for Seniors)

The long lost Leek for potato-bake

The long lost Leek for potato-bake

There comes a time that a lost leek is the only way out for seeking relief from life’s unrelenting savagery. I mean our Minister for Immigration has stated that, “some refugees have resorted to self-immolation in order to get a foothold in Australia.” http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/political-news/asylum-seekers-have-selfimmolated-to-get-to-australia-peter-dutton-20160811-gqq48f.html

The release by The Guardian newspaper of several thousands of complaints about the conditions of refugees on Manus and Nauru seems to have caught the attention overseas but hardly made the media here in Australia. Children are right now being sexually assaulted, as are the adults.

https://www.theguardian.com/news/series/nauru-files

What a fate. My parents came here for the children’s future. I can still hear my dad saying that to his own family of brothers and sisters before our departure from Holland. He might have had some trepidation. His own family thought it a somewhat dangerous and foolish choice. Has it turned out to be a mistake? I am ashamed of my adopted country now. I even took on the Australian Nationality. I remember the ceremony at Sydney’s town-hall with getting a cup-o-tea and an Arnott’s biscuit from the Salvos, together with my Australian Nationality Certificate.

Australia has stopped dog racing as being cruel but seems unwilling to give the same consideration to refugees warehoused on Nauru and Manus.

The potato bake is one way of coping. I rummaged around the bottom of the fridge and found a long-lost leek and some lonely and somewhat wrinkled carrots. A potato-bake sprung to mind. I sautéed some onions and mixed that with fried bacon after which I mixed in about 250grams of frozen spinach. Get real spinach NOT silver-beet. In an olive-oiled baking dish I put layers of thinly sliced potato interspersed with the sliced long lost leek and cut thinly the lonely carrots. Spoon over this some of the bacon-spinach-onion mixture followed by grated Parmesan cheese. Of course, oregano is obligatory as well.

The leek had actually started to grow inside the fridge with the inner rings bravely sprouting forward bypassing the outer rings. I used four freshly bought potatoes. This whole lot is now given a baptism of three cupful of milk and sour cream. with the leek, spinach, onion and carrots layered with a final dosage of cheese on top is put in a pre-heated oven at about 200c for fifteen minutes. This gives it an irresistible crust. Turn oven down to 150C for about one hour.

One can forgive or at least momentarily forget all the problems by eating this lovely but modest dish. I do hope some of you will get respite. (Try and not think of our Migration Minister, Dutton, when slicing the leek)

https://www.amazon.com/Oosterman-Treats-Philosophical-Musings-vasectomy/dp/099458105X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1471308264&sr=1-1&keywords=oosterman+treats

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

30 Responses to “The long lost Leek. (for Seniors)”

  1. Yvonne Says:

    If we think of that heartless man as we slice leeks, the slashes will be quite strong! I hope karma bites him on the bum, soon.

    Liked by 3 people

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      I am struggling not to think of Dutton while sharpening my knife on the grinding wheel. It is hard to remain serene. I might have to take a calmative in the form of warm milk and honey and try and think of Venice instead. I do hope Karma will bite him. No way am I going to bite him on the bum. The horror!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Julia Lund Says:

    The recipe sounds wonderful – I will definitely try it. As for man’s capacity for inhumanity to man, it never ceases to appal me. On the other hand, the desire to build a world where compassion, tolerance and love for others is paramount is what drives so many, and that gives me hope. May voices like yours never cease to speak out.

    Liked by 3 people

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Thank you, Julia. Your voice too will make a difference. I think the issue of asylum seekers and their indefinite incarceration will come to a head soon.
      Canada, The US and New Zealand are willing to take some of them. The Australian Government won’t allow that as they feel it might then offer an opportunity to refugees who might finally settle in Australia, using ‘a back door method!’
      Nothing but a kind of ‘final solution’ will satisfy the Australian Government, by forcing them to go back to the countries where they fled from.

      Like

  3. Forestwoodfolkart Says:

    Never mind not thinking about Peter Dutton whilst slicing a leek, better to not think of him whilst using a knife!!! I like this variation of the humble potato bake. The spinach and leek will be a great combo with potato, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Big M Says:

    The whole thing is shameful. Morrison and Dutton, two nasty fellows. None of this is new. This has been in the public domain for some years. The general public seem to ignore it, or claim it isn’t true. Real NAZI tactics. All we can do is maintain the rage.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      We all hope it will soon end. There are countries that will take the refugees but Australia insists those countries ( Canada, the US and New Zealand) will then allow them travel rights which might mean they will finally come to visit Australia.
      Right from the outset, this Government pledged the refugees will never set foot in Australia.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Big M Says:

        I’m keeping my chin up by reading a couple of Oosterman classics. They arrived from the Amazonians Monday. In fact, I got into trouble for failing to respond to Mrs M (I’m sometimes unsure if she’s reading instructions aloud, singing, talking to the dogs, or me). “Darling, I’m reading an Oosterman!!”

        Like

      • gerard oosterman Says:

        Hah,haaaa. Good one, Big M.
        Helvi reckons I don’t hear anything. Everything falls on deaf ears; orders, instructions or pleas of any kind. I can only make amends by the lame excuse of ‘the batteries have run out.’

        Liked by 1 person

  5. kaytisweetlandrasmussen83 Says:

    The conditions on Manus and Nauru are horrible. It takes a horrible person to condone them.
    The potato bake is brilliant. I can’t wait to try it. Thanks for the share. You come up with some delicious recipes Gerard.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. pethan35 Says:

    I read in another Guardian article about the Joseph Goebbels secretary and what nice man he was. And, she knew nothing of what happened to the Jews. I wondered whether we will too, in seventy years, hear from an old secretary of Peter Dutton telling us what nice Peter really was. He never hurt a fly and shook the hand of his staff at Christmas and wore only the best of suits. Manus Island and Naura never came in any conversation.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lottie Nevin Says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one that clings on to leeks so long that they start to sprout. Must be our frugal lowland blood?

    As for nationality, I’m ashamed to hold a British passport. I can’t think of one nice thing to say about the UK right now😦

    BTW, your Leek and Lonely Carrot Bake sounds very good.

    Liked by 2 people

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, Lottie. It is a nice bake. I mean, pretty basic and the bacon could be replaced with tinned tuna.
      Yesterday we cooked nice chicken on the old Webber. It is one of America’s greatest inventions. Charcoal grilling the chook with capsicum, spuds and zucchini. It lifts the spirit and encourages conjugality.😉

      Liked by 1 person

  8. elizabeth2560 Says:

    Yes it is amazing how they have stopped dog racing but not detaining refugees. The analogy was spot on. The shame of Australia.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Curt Mekemson Says:

    International pressure is building on Nauru and Manus, Gerard. Hopefully you and those of you who care so much in Australia will no longer be voices calling in the wilderness.
    On another note, I went scrambling through my refrigerator finding old things to throw in a stew a couple of days ago. Quite tasty.🙂 –Curt

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      It is amazing how Australia is defying international condemnation. Of course right now, the Olympic medal tally is all important with some saying that spending $800.000.000,- on sport is just not enough to put us up front.
      Yet, science, education and health is being squeezed for funding.
      What good is all that sweaty running and manic jumping about when we don’t care for our refugees?

      Like

      • Curt Mekemson Says:

        I’d have to agree, but I still think we need our bread and circuses. We’ve gone way to far, however. College football coaches in America often get paid more than the college presidents. And yet kids going to schools are saddled with debts that take a life time to pay off. It’s criminal from my perspective. It comes from big banks being in bed with politicians. My latest Consumer Reports magazine features “I kind of ruined my life by going to college.” on its front page.
        As for man’s inhumanity to man, I am convinced that part of the solution is to move away from the absolute power of nation states to do whatever they want. –Curt

        Like

  10. hilarycustancegreen Says:

    I can’t do a thing about the desperate refugee situation in Australia, so I have stolen your potato bake recipe for a temporary respite from guilt.

    Like

  11. petspeopleandlife Says:

    Shame on Australia. What a mess. The higher ups don’t care about human life. We have an immigrant problem here in the states as well,with so many Latins trying to make a better life. Trump wants Mexico to pay for a wall. He must be dreaming. Dim witted people think Trump is “their man.” Heaven help us if he is elected.

    I like the sound of your receipe. It should be good to eat and good for the soul.🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

