Grasshopper, my Friend.

The Grasshopper

The Grasshopper

 

Just when the feverous counting of white spaces with fonts reached its peak, salvation turned up. It always does. We left the books on the outside table and nipped off to see a very good movie. It is called ‘Spotlight.’

“It’s not a stretch to suggest that “Spotlight” is the finest newspaper movie of its era, joining “Citizen Kane” and “All the President’s Men” in the pantheon of classics of the genre. Full review
Ann Hornaday·Washington Post.”
It is perhaps the best movie of the year and I can see it winning lots of awards with ‘Carol’ running a close second.
After  seeing the movie I felt pleased our own Cardinal Pell will finally front up too.  After the skirmishes between scores of lawyers and doctors he will finally, and by hook and by crook, but more by crook,  while luxuriating from his delightful 4 star hotel in Rome, face the victims of years of dreadful abuse by his church.
What I would not give for our Government to face similar scrutiny about the abuse, including sexual, of the asylum seekers.  I think it might well be inching its way to there.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-02-24/australias-immigration-policies-violating-international-law/7195432
But, the movie was not the end of it. With reckless abandon we went straight to Harris Market and bought a great rack of lamb for afterwards. A barbeque was coming. Actually, already before the movie and still counting lines of yet another book, I felt a barbeque coming on. You know how sometimes two people are subconsciously thinking of the same thing and at the same time. I don’t think that a barbeque is necessarily pushing itself on the consciousness of filmgoers just having seen a movie about child abuse. Perhaps a couple merging into a single unit. Or is it a kind of telepathy perhaps voodoo thought transference?
But this movie was so much more. With sighs of relief  the audience  were stunned, and remained seated going through all the credits at the end of the movie without a murmur. No one seemed to want to get up, go home. It is that kind of movie! Right at the beginning of the movie we were greatly comforted that the audience were not the usual or habitual food-eaters. Perhaps a couple of choc-tops ice- creams; it was a hot day. No buckets of eggs wafting pop-corn or cartons of chilli-con-carne. We were a serious lot. This movie had in its credits a list of the over 70 paedophile priests that were shifted around from Parish to Diocese in Boston and seemingly around the world, and included Australia on the receiving end, with at least Bendigo  and Mittagong  receiving paedophile priests that were soothed into escaping  justice by the presiding cardinal.
The Grasshopper

The Grasshopper

Anyway, the Webber was fired up and the rack of lamb, after getting marinated with rosemary, garlic and lemon juice, was just perfect and still pink inside. While eating the rack of lamb with Jap Pumpkin I noticed a friendly grasshopper staring at me while crawling over my hand. I was intrigued why it wasn’t hopping. I always thought they could only hop. Not this one though. It walked putting one lanky leg after the other. We both got on very well. It finally left my hand and went straight to a bottle of wine that I opened to go with the lamb. It was cheeky little number. Quite ambitious with a lot of peach on the middle palate.  The hopper knew it too. It climbed the bottle to the top.(one leg after the other). Having reached the top it found the cap screwed back on. A bit of a bummer, don’t you think? I quickly took my iPhone and here are the two pictures I took.
Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

26 Responses to “Grasshopper, my Friend.”

  1. Carrie Rubin Says:

    Spotlight was an amazing movie, I agree. One of the best I’ve seen. I’d like to see The Revenant win the Oscar because I thought that was incredible too. But Spotlight is a close second.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nonsmokingladybug Says:

    Glad you enjoyed the movie. I saved the title on my “have to watch list.” I think your grasshopper is missing one leg. That might be the reason that it didn’t jump.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yvonne Says:

    Now, I want to see that movie, also.

    Poor Cardinal Pell, doesn’t even get a 5 Star hotel. The suffering …

    Your insect has impeccable taste in wine, it seems.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sedwith Says:

    Sounds like a must see.
    And thanks for all the ‘likes’, your contribution to my 200 likes as of today must make up 99.9% of that! Much appreciated Gerard. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. elizabeth2560 Says:

    The trailers to the movie look good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      This movie, unlike most American movies, does not have a single act of violence or any shooting. Not as much as a single punch or car chase. Sure, the actors are all good looking, firm chins, perfect teeth, a couple of dimples and all that. Bouffant hair. But, no, it wasn’t a Hollywood type of thing at all.

      Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      No heaving breasts or any erect organ palpitations, contractions, thunderous Phillip Glass music, explosions, all absent, yet a great movie. The subject matter of sexual abuse was not exploited for its own sake.( with cinematic tear-stained faces etc.)

      Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres Says:

    If you’re interested, you might consult the google regarding your friend. My suspicion is that it’s a katydid rather than a grasshopper.

    That’s not really important, since both are interesting creatures and tend to prefer the same wines, but it’s my experience that katydids are more sociable than grasshoppers, and often seem to enjoy human companionship. They do walk around a good bit more than grasshoppers.

    I watch kaytidids more than movies, so I didn’t know about “Spotlight.” Every awards season I feel a little guilty that I haven’t kept up, and I make a resolution to be more attentive, but it never happens. I think part of it is that Hollywood generally bores me, so I can’t imagine them producing films that wouldn’t be boring. I recognize that this is a prejudice I ought to get over. Maybe I’ll make seeing “Spotlight” a move in that direction. I do make a beeline for every Judi Dench movie, so there’s that.

    Liked by 2 people

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, you are right, Linda. Grasshoppers, crickets , Locusts and the katydids belong to the orthopterans family. I googled it. I can well understand watching the delightful katydids in action rather the average Hollywood movie.
      For a few seconds the ‘grasshopper’ and I interacted. There was an understanding. I felt it. We looked each other in the eye.
      And after the photos were taken, it left. And that was that. The moment had past.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. auntyuta Says:

    Gerard, you say: ” , , , , This movie had in its credits a list of the over 70 paedophile priests that were shifted around from Parish to Diocese in Boston and seemingly around the world, and included Australia on the receiving end, with at least Bendigo and Mittagong receiving paedophile priests that were soothed into escaping justice
    by the presiding cardinal. . . . .”
    And you say earlier on in your post:: ‘ . . . . After seeing the movie I felt pleased our own Cardinal Pell will finally front up too. After the skirmishes between scores of lawyers and doctors he will finally, and by hook and by crook, but more by crook, while luxuriating from his delightful 4 star hotel in Rome, face the victims of years of dreadful abuse by his church. . . . ”

    I ask myself, how can child abuse like this, and indeed any sexual abuse in the community not be noticed by anyone to stop it?

    Has a lot of the abuse stopped now or is it still going on all over the world? What good does it, when only after many, many years it is talked about publicly?

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      It went on, Uta. Because the notifications were ignored. The children did come out and told others about it. They were told to shut up. The UnChristian priests or brothers involved were quietly put on ‘sick’ leave or shifted elsewhere.
      Of course it was known by the hierachy of the church at the time. It is not the individual peadophile priest or brother, it is the ‘system’ that allowed it to continue.
      My mother never made head-way with the De La Salle UnChristian brothers who used to lay into her sons at primary school level with the cane or strap. We could not believe that at the time Australia allowed the assault by grown men on small children. It was all ‘normal’, ‘teach them a lesson.’
      Where do you think the present attitude towards refugees on Manus and Nauru stems from?

      Like

  8. kaytisweetlandrasmussen83 Says:

    Naturally the katydids are the more interesting; or shouldn’t they be called “kayti-dids”?
    I have not seen any of the movies up for grabs this year, but in reading the descriptions I can say the ones I would NOT see. I find myself more interested this year in watching the real-life drama-comedy of the current race for the president. It’s like a tit-for-tat on the school ground.

    Like

  9. Forestwoodfolkart Says:

    I have not seen Spotlight but I am glad it highlights this dreadful abuse of the most vulnerable sector of society. I feel so angry inside that not only it happened but also of a system that allowed it. Even in my own circle, there were incidents that were brushed under the carpet by the church, mainly, but also look at the Hey Dad star…. he got away with it, as did that monster, Jimmy Saville and his unsavoury crew. Many children in “care” were sexuall abused.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. hilarycustancegreen Says:

    The grasshopper is beautiful and I am cheered by your prediction of more justice to come.

    Like

  11. Julia Lund Says:

    I hadn’t heard of this film. Sounds a bit harrowing, but I’ll look out for it.

    Bbq sounds wonderful. It’s been so wet and cold here for so long now, I’ve almost lost hope of ever experiencing one again.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Patti Küche Says:

    If I start laying into how I really feel about Pell and the whole damned business of the Catholic church paedophile shuffle, well, I might be here for some time. And let’s not forget birth control was a sin – women were so tied to the confessional box, the abused children tied by trust.

    Hoping to see Spotlight soon! As for “Carol” – I want my money back!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, how will Pell ever overcome his intractible stance?

      My mum had six children and in her latter years admitted she too would have urged her husband to undergo a vasectomy if it had been available.
      A funny admission, and that was after she had seen me being interviewed on the telly about my little tuck and snip.

      Like

Leave a Reply

