The wisdom of Lobelia.

Lobelia

Lobelia

Seeking counsel from  Lobelia is simple, effective and very cheap. Just pull a chair up and sit next to her. Soon, most worries, heart-pain and general burped up dyspepsia combined with obstinate corns, will disappear together with anxiety and guilt of having forgotten some Christmas cards recipients. She will help you overcome.

When I think of all those books written for those suffering from  deep and clear-sighted despair and those that habitually sink in gloom or heavy thoughts, I can’t think of a better cure than to try and unburden yourself with Lobelia. It doesn’t take much time and it can be done at home provided you have a small garden or even a balcony. The books written on self discovery and finding happiness now almost outnumber cooking books. Yet, the cure is to be found within the blue eyed Lobelia. She is there at your behest almost all year around.

(How perplexing that words so often seem to offer themselves out of nowhere. Why did I write the word ‘behest’? I hardly know what it means. After looking in the dictionary it fits the sentence.)

I don’t know what it is. Lately when switching on TV, hoping for good news, we get someone stirring or tossing something and saying ; ‘oh how yummy,’  repeated again, ‘oh, really yummy’. It can be so exasperating. Do people that watch it, jump up, run into the kitchen and start cooking? Or, do they dip into the box of chocolates in front of them on the coffee table or even held in their lap? With the increasing problem of so much weight gain around, one would expect cooking shows to feature the tossing up of just a single spinach leaf or celery stalk infused with just a drop of virgin oil.

Am I the only one waiting for a heartfelt, ‘oh what a disgusting dish this was’. Surely, sometimes a recipe fails? Am I the only bad cook? All dishes on TV turn out yummy. That’s all worked out beforehand. Scores of people and programmers work and write those cooking shows. Nigella Lawson is always right on queue giving those seductive side-way glances while licking her creamed ladle. Don’t be fooled it is spontaneous. She fakes it!  A little man in the corner of her kitchen holds a  folder and reads out every word, every lick, smile and every gesture. There are endless re-takes and each show costs millions.

It is therefore so pleasing to have Lobelia. She is all true and without pretence or haughtiness. You just know,  that when life becomes too over or under whelming, one can find the help, solace and peace deep within the heart of a simple Lobelia.

 

Tags: , , ,

29 Responses to “The wisdom of Lobelia.”

  1. Rosie Says:

    Is Helvi aware of your new obsession with the blue-eyed ‘Lobelia’? Is Milo puzzled by your friendship with ‘Lobelia’? Perhaps we all need a ‘Lobelia’ in our lives.

    Liked by 3 people

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Oh yes, Helvi grows Lobelias all over our garden. They are just the most beautiful little flowers imaginable. There are hundreds of varieties. They make you feel so humbled and happy.. You are so right. We all need to have Lobelias in our lives. Their beauty is real in an ocean of so much that is false and pretentious.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Carrie Rubin Says:

    I never watch cooking shows. All I can think about is, “I wonder if he/she washed her hands? Oh, that raw meat is too close to the vegetables. The chef didn’t sanitize that counter–what if he/she gets salmonella?” So yes, this is what goes through my mind while I watch them cook, which is why I don’t…😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      We sometimes watch a cooking show if only just to see the country side of Spain or the Mekong river in Vietnam.
      Often the cooking is done floating on a river somewhere. At least in case of the kitcehn catching fire, the water is nearby.

      Did I tell you I made a lovely potato and leeks bake where I used cream instead of just milk. It is simple and tasty with just a bit of pepper and salt with fresh oregano chucked in.

      The cooking in our kitchen includes a view over the Lobelia outside. (which helps)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. auntyuta Says:

    There are a lot of ways how you can meditate. We all should set aside a bit of time for daily meditation. Nature in any form can help with this. This Lobelia of yours seems to be perfect for this kind of relaxing. May it continue to flower all year round. What a beautiful, peaceful setting. Thanks for sharing, Gerard.

    As far as food is concerned I happen to love simple vegetarian food with fresh herbs and spices. I am happy to have only occasionally a little bit of well spiced fish or meat on the side. Anything that has added sugar in it, I usually do not like at all. I hate cake that tastes too sugary. With a cup of coffee I might bring myself to help myself to a tiny bit of sugary cake. Mostly I do not care about using any recipes. I just like to use whatever ingredients I have available at the time. When cooking I like to use my imagination and experiment with different combinations!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes Uta, Cooking is my forte but sometimes it can go badly wrong. I sometimes take a walk on the wild side in culinary experimentation. Milo is still having the remnants of a side of pork I cooked on the Webber some time ago.
      You know, it was a warm and sultry afternoon, a rich-red shiraz at 4.30pm, a snooze and suddenly the shout ; FIRE, Fire, fire. Helvi waking me. The fat had dripped onto the hot coals and hte side of pork got more than just crackling.It was black outside and still raw inside. Lucky no one got hurt.
      Still, Milo has never had it so good.
      I generally like cooking and when I don’t we get pizza or go for a meal out. Most times I go for the salt- pepper calamari with string fries and salad and Helvi for the barramundi with string fries and salad. A bit prosaic, but we love it.
      As for cake, we hardly ever eat cake. Helvi only yesterday mentioned she never ever bought cake or has eaten chocolate deliberately. I sometimes have some cheese or a raw herring for dessert.

      Like

  4. kaytisweetlandrasmussen83 Says:

    I also liked the bok choy, potato and tuna dish. Did the lobelia inspire it as well? Nigella should hire a pot of it to be on her show. I would watch the cooking shows, except they all come on during the newscasts, which are SO interesting now with Trump trumpeting his invective, I can’t afford to miss them.

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      So glad you remembered the tuna and bok choy. It is now my signature dish😉
      Yes, Trump is a sad comedy show. I reckon he has hypo-thiroiditus or intestinal bloat, something even worse. He gets all red and bloated in the face. He should see a good doctor.

      Like

  5. kaytisweetlandrasmussen83 Says:

    Oh, a bit of cream and a blob of butter improves everything.

    Like

  6. hilarycustancegreen Says:

    I can’t cope with Nigella, so I’ll opt for lobelia every time.

    Like

  7. shoreacres Says:

    I didn’t know Lobelia, but I see we have a native variety here in Texas: Lobelia cardinalis, or Cardinal flower.

    I thought this was so interesting:

    “Cardinal flowers are quite uncommon. They are specially modified so that they can only be pollinated by hummingbirds. The vivid red flowers bloom in the fall at the same time that hummingbirds embark on their migration south. Hummingbirds are attracted to the blooms’ bright color and abundant nectar, and carry the pollen long distances from flower to flower and ensure the plant’s survival.”

    Like

  8. Mary Cathleen Clark Says:

    Hibiscus of the flaming red hair brings me peace. She is the daughter of the red beauty that held court in my Mama’s flower bed. Her roots tenderly cradle my beloved cat, Chelsea. I visit with her when I am down, and she comforts me.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Master of Something Yet Says:

    Lobelia lived at our old house but then we moved. I should invite her over.
    I love that flying inspiration that puts in a superlative word without you realising it. Behest is a great one.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. berlioz1935 Says:

    TV has deteriorated over the years or were we more tolerant then? Channels have multiplied but not the content. I never watch cooking shows. That shows you how far I am removed from the maddening crowd. Watching a plant grow, or just being, is a good idea, Gerard.

    Like

  11. Patti Kuche Says:

    Wow, Lobelia and Nigella – what a combo!!!

    Like

  12. chris hunter Says:

    Midway in a long journey, the back aches, the ear aches, the throat aches – I’m looking for sweet Lobelia, is she related to cracklin’ Rosie? I’ll be raising a glass in your direction on the day – you two “good guys”. (smile)

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Well, I do hope you will come across sweet Lobelia. Hope you are easing all your the aches even without Crackling Rosie. You have a good Christmas form both of us.
      May the force stay with you. Did I tell you I am going to self publish a book on memoires?

      Like

      • chris hunter Says:

        A book would be great. I’ll purchase a copy. Keep me updated on this Gerard, seriously looking forward to it.

        Like

      • gerard oosterman Says:

        You made my Christmas, Chris. Thank you for your lovely gesture.

        Like

      • chris hunter Says:

        Gerard, I cannot find a reference to my father’s autobiography on the net. However, looking at the actual book, the following is inside the front cover: Lloyd Hunter dictated these memoirs to Dorothy Stanton of The Nelson Hospice Trust. This was part of the service provided by the Hospice for terminally ill cancer patients, for which Lloyd’s family is very grateful.

        The book contains quite a number of illustrations. Cheers.

        Like

  13. Forestwoodfolkart Says:

    Let’s face it – Nigella isn’t marketing food or recipes. She is selling sex! Sex disguised as a recipe! Or a recipe for sex? Whatever, they have to fail but it is the power of prerecorded television to be “perfect,” not real! Would I rather have Nigella than Lobelia…. I don’t think so!

    Like

Leave a Reply

