Halloween and the ‘trickle down’ of wealth lie

5bb6dc54-459b-473b-8d32-4aa92bb72829

Yummy, Halloween is in town. Soon, the kids will be knocking on my door. I have a nice hand woven cane basket behind the door filled with well washed, snappy, juicy celery sticks. Any complaints and I will give them a sermon on how my mum made soup from potato peelings and that the yearly glass of orange cordial was something we looked forward to on our birthday, and that was only after the end of WW2 . The kids should give me a lolly really.

I am always amazed how some kids will buy an ice-cream or some other treat, take a few licks or bites, only to callously discard it when the taste whim has been exhausted. What opulence, what lonely wealth we now enjoy. Is it true that wealth has ‘trickled down’? It might be true that kids can buy a sweet at whim. That is not true when it comes from most people having benefitted from tax cuts that predominantly favour the rich over the poor. More and more wealth end up with fewer people. The economy of supply hasn’t saved the world from an impoverished ecology or benefitted the homeless, the unemployed, the mentally ill.

Who benefitted from Australia’s resource boom  a few years ago? Did Australia build a kitty for the future? No, most of its wealth went to  just  a few of the owners and their share holders. Australia did not build a wealth fund. It was simply not possible. The resource rich leases of mining tenements were sold to a few wealthy people who profited enormously. There was no ‘trickle down’ at all, more of a ‘torrent upwards’.

images

“The richest 85 people in the world have as much wealth as the poorest 3.5bn. That should be a wake-up call to the deepest sleepers”. As for Halloween;

https://oosterman.wordpress.com/2012/10/17/the-big-lollie-houses-are-in-shepherd-street/

Tags: , ,

20 Responses to “Halloween and the ‘trickle down’ of wealth lie”

  1. petspeopleandlife Says:

    Well now., the rich do control the world. more or less, but likely more. Too many peons in the sea who support the wealthy. if only they did something to benefit man such as donate to research to eradicate lots of disease etc. But it just does not work that way.

    No one comes to my house for trick or treat. I live off the main street and my property is entered by driving down a tree shaded lane. It is too scary and I’m glad. Besides I have an iron gate at the entrance so no one dares come through. And I do not miss be hassled by candy sucking kids. Sorry but that’s how I feel about Halloween.

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Our kids used to love going down the streets and get bags full of lollies. They have outgrown that now. A pity really, the age of wonder and excitement, the magic of monsters and forests with ghosts, the creatures lurking around. It is not good when all that get usurped by stark reality of life. It should always remain magical.

      Liked by 2 people

      • petspeopleandlife Says:

        Life remains magical only in our dreams. But for some fortunate folks life remains full of surprises and great anticipation of new things and experiences. I admire those people.

        Like

      • gerard oosterman Says:

        The magic sure has gone out of toilet paper. I first thought it was imagination that the rolls have become narrower but when we stayed in Currumbin Eco village, the bathroom had toilet rolls much wider and more generous that what we use in NSW.
        I never thought I would measure width of toilet rolls in my retirement, but sadly it has come to that now. Audi toilet rolls are much narrower and we are being cheated. I wrote it all down.
        It does’nt stop at toilet rolls either. I bought eggs in a carton which I thought had a dozen eggs. But, no. Just ten eggs to the dozen now. Next time you buy eggs check the carton. They are reducing the number of eggs but the cartons still look the same.
        Trickle down wealth is bull-shit. We wipe our bums at great risks and eggs are now 10 to a dozen. I’ll be glad when it is all over.

        Like

  2. berlioz1935 Says:

    A true Halloween story that should put the fear into us. The rich are trickle treating them selves. We are not even getting the crumbs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Forestwoodfolkart Says:

    Gerard you are the suburban voice of reason and common sense. I love the idea of celery sticks treats because I am a bit anti Halloween. For the life of me I can’t understand why people are blind to the contradiction between teaching kids stranger danger and condoning kids to go knocking on stranger’s door to request a free lollie and, in the dark for goodness sake! If they are going to ask/beg for food, then carrot or celery sticks makes more sense. Cleans their teeth after the sweets they get?!!!!. Somehow I don’t think it will take off! I only wish it would. As for the now debunked trickle down economic theory, I think it was just a rather arrogant way for the wealthy sectors of parliaments to rationalize re-direction of funds away from aid and welfare. Happy Halloween!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      The ABC devoted two articles on Halloween which received hundreds of responses, many of which were hilarious. Someone suggested carrots, others for the kids to be given raisins or put to work weeding and sweeping the yard, helping pensioners cross the roads. My suggestion of celery sticks was also well received.
      As for the trickle down of wealth, notice Stuarts response lower down!
      Australia paid 40 million dollars for Cambodia to warehouse 4 refugees that Australia is too mean to accept on own shores.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. nonsmokingladybug Says:

    You are right, but don’t ever watch me eating pralines, because than you would see that I bite into a praline and then I put it back, if it’s not my taste. It does’t get thrown away, because all of our dogs love chocolate.

    I gave up on Halloween when I couldn’t give out home made candy anymore. Today I still make it and the neighbor kids come by before or after, but I can’t give it out.

    We live in times where waste is normal, kids see it from there parents.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Carrie Rubin Says:

    I just read this in USA Today yesterday: “100 CEOs have $4.9 billion in retirement funds…equal to the retirement savings of nearly half of US families.” Scary indeed.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. stuartbramhall Says:

    Trickle down is just another fairy tale like Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny. The rich think they can pee on us and tell us it’s just a warm shower.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. kaytisweetlandrasmussen83 Says:

    I haven’t seen anybody on either side here in the US that I could see becoming president. Now that’s scary when you see how many choices there are. We need someone to rescue us from this mess we’ve gotten ourselves into.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      No one seems strong enough to end the slaughter by guns on home-turf. Who wrote that ‘America is another country. They do things differently there?
      Sorry, just an allusion and alteration to the opening lines of Hartley’s The Go Between. ‘The past is a foreign country, they do things differently there.’
      I like Hillary Clinton or is that stupid proof of my ignorance?’

      Like

  8. kaytisweetlandrasmussen83 Says:

    Hillary obviously has more experience than anybody else, but I just can’t like her. The only one I could think about liking a little is Marco Rubio, but I’m not sure of him either. Dilemma! Lucky no one is holding a hatchet over my head!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

