Robot vacuum and Grandsons surviving Grandparents.

Thomas without tablet (de)vice

Thomas without tablet (de)vice

My nemesis throughout life has been how to escape ennui. Mother’s answer was always; keep busy and don’t nourish impure thoughts (hold hands above blankets) and think of poor little Moses in its reed basket floating down the Nile. But…sometimes keeping busy does not always mean an escape from boredom. Take vacuuming. What can be more soul destroying? It is a painful truth but Jack Russell roughies lose their bodyweight in hair each day. Hence the relentless vacuuming. Helvi pretends she doesn’t understand the technicalities of switching on/off the vacuum cleaner. Humfppp and grrr.

But here is where Aldi shines, yet again. They had a robotic vacuum cleaner for $179.- .It was on ‘special’ and it would be ‘saving money’ at that price. Who could resist? I hurried home to tell Helvi the good news. “Will it work, she sceptically asked?” “Oh, it will. Come upstairs and I’ll show you the video. It is a very clean movie, no nudity or strange hairy bits, I added for comfort”. The video was no Godfather or The Killing. It did show how deft and persistent the robot fulfilled its programmed task. It faultlessly skirted around crevices and dipped into every nook and cranny. Not a square inch forgotten. It reared up over carpets and assaulted dust as if Lawrence of Arabia in the Sahara. Amazing. I was so happy and more happy. I was on the edge of my chair. I had overcome.

Yes, there is more. Remember the kids’ tablets behind lock and key? We just could not stand them sitting around on holiday fiddling with those tablets eating up all our data. I had an emergency e-mail from Telstra that most of my data was used up and there were still over twenty days left. I took charge and locked up the devices. The good news was that after an initial period of pissed off kids, scowling and threatening to call their mother, they relented, and lifted their heads up from the almost permanent 90 degree angle of heads to chest. In between Emergency Hospital visits, Thomas read hundreds of pages and started building his V8 engine. He managed to get the 8 pistons in the cylinders on the crankshaft. No mean feat considering the pistons moved up and down in series of two. He also got all the tappets working. I just took a minor role providing him with nice words and a Philips screwdriver. Max started going around on skateboard and managed to wack three tennis balls over the fence.. So, all came good at the end.

Bored Grandchildren with tablets.

Bored Grandchildren with tablets.

I remember during my school holidays being flat out stealing lead flashings from windows or going around with a magnifying glass burning shoe laces that would slowly creep towards a box full of match-heads which we had laid on the local tram-rail. We would collect a bucket full of thistle heads which we would throw on fashionably dressed ladies’ coats. How fortunate no Internet tablets were around to corrupt and spoil us.

We were so lucky!

Tags: , , ,

20 Responses to “Robot vacuum and Grandsons surviving Grandparents.”

  1. petspeopleandlife Says:

    Oh my goodness., Yep the dog does shed a lot but believe it or not Labradors that are short haired dogs shed the most. I have tile and also hard wood floors so I seldom drag out the vacuum cleaner. I have an excellent broom that sweeps almost as good as the vacuum.

    Nice read here by the way. I can tell that you love your grand kids very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dorothy brett Says:

    Wish I had an excuse to buy a robot vacuum cleaner.
    Allison says that when their heads are bent over the head weighs an enormous amount. So you are not wrong.
    Mind you don’t ask me how long I play on my iPad. Too long I think what with Scrabble etc.

    Like

  3. gerard oosterman Says:

    Reading is what makes the world go around. I see people together and they are all texting instead of talking.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Andrew Says:

    Does a robot hoover actually work? Mrs. Ha has been badgering to buy one but they are a lot more expensive than the Aldi price and I have prevailed so far. If I were convinced that they worked I might, just might, relent. Why not replace the tablet with an e reader so they can get a tablet fix but only read on it?

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, the robot works best on hard floors. Also, it does not like clutter. We put chairs on table and remove baskets, shoes, slippers etc.
      It is efficient but more of an in between real vacuming with the hand held.
      It is essential if you have a dog . Just flick it on with remote and it obediently travels around the room with a slight burring sound.
      The kids fix with tablet is very game oriented. I doubt changing the tablet into e-reader would suffice. They are too sophisticated and would soon have it back onto those shuffling motor cars or gun toting shoot outs.
      No, the sock drawer is the real answer.

      Like

      • Andrew Says:

        “It is essential if you have a dog . Just flick it on with remote and it obediently travels around the room with a slight burring sound.” Just to be clear, Gerard, is it the cleaner I flick on or the dog?

        Like

  5. Silver in the Barn Says:

    You have no idea how you make me laugh out loud, Gerard. The image of rapscallions throwing thistle heads at innocent dowagers fills me with delight! These are the joys of boyhood which kids are missing today. Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Fin with tablets? Never.

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, the Dutch thistles were just perfect. They could be thrown but the recipient would not feel anything as they were very light but would cling to almost anything. It was highly amusing to see a fully fur adorned lady with the back of the coat plastered with thistles
      Almost as good as wrapping dog turds in a nice looking wrapped gift packet left on the pavement. You can imagine the ‘lucky’ finder opening the package, full of expectations….and…then!

      Like

  6. Curt Mekemson Says:

    So, did you buy the vacuum, Gerard? I confess to having looked at one a couple of weeks ago. I think it was substantially more than $179 though. And holding hands above the blankets? What kind of fun is that? –Curt

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, we bought the ALDi version and it works OK. It does a good job on hard surfaces but is less happy with carpets, especially the long pile carpet. It does not have the suction of a hand-held vacuum cleaner. We replaced carpet with tiles and just have flat Kilim rugs underneath tables. The robot travels around the place like an eratic dancer doing Fox Trot or even a Pride of Erin. We both love watching it during the times when TV is in depression. We are intrigued by the ingenuity of the robot overcoming obstacles such as chairs or a sleeping Milo.
      When the battery runs out (2hrs) it automatically finds its way back to the docking station and re-charges.

      Like

  7. la_lasciata Says:

    You are SUCH an idiot, Gerard !! [grin]
    My wonderful cleaner used to bring his own Dyson, as my Nilfisk wasn’t coping with Lui’s shed fur; but then he upgraded and I bought it 2nd-hand, and now everyone’s happy !🙂
    P.S. And does it really work, the Aldi one ?

    Like

  8. hilarycustancegreen Says:

    Hmm, it sounds like a dream, but if it is no good on carpets, I’ll have to go on dreaming. Our old second-hand Dyson is a noisy brute and I agree, there is nothing more boring than vacuuming. I do very little, but we no longer have cats. Clever wheeze with the grandchildren, I will remember it, if we get lucky.

    Like

  9. kaytisweetlandrasmussen83 Says:

    JRT’s seem to be noteworthy for leaving white hair all over every stationary thing. Remember my new yellow vac” The trick is to get it out of the closet and USE it! Oh but those cute little barkers what would we do without them?

    Like

  10. gerard oosterman Says:

    I don’t even have the vacuum cleaner in the closet. I close my eyes when I walk by . A dreadful invention. But Milo, oh, canonisation only, will do for this Monsieur.

    Like

Leave a Reply

