Between Pius X11 hiccups and scanner.

The scanner was still there this morning. I got up very early after another night of tossing and turning. There is only so much excitement an elderly gent can cope with. Right now we are tackling all the cables, cords and paraphernalia cluttering our table. The table was bought from an Italian lady who runs a second hand furniture shop in Goulburn. It is a very large table and how we dragged it up the stairs and around the corner into our small bedroom (office now) would or should hail as world wonder number 8.
See photo of table here!

The cluster of cables united

The cluster of cables united

The table was used for pattern making and sewing as the table has little indentions in its wooden top of a serrated little wheel traditionally used in copying the paper pattern onto the material or vice versa (don’t ask why or how!)

It took two of us to sort the cables and cords. One of us on the table and one underneath. The person underneath the table would tug a cord with the person on top of the table identifying what the cord was doing there and to which appliance it was connected to. I can see how ‘wire-free is tempting. With just speakers, two printers and two computers it is amazing how many cables are needed to just connect to so much nonsense. Anyway, as you can see it is now looking tidier. I am sure that in a few weeks time it will all be in turmoil again. God knows what those cables are up to at night!

The next photo is scanned direct from my minds memory which dates it roughly to Pius the X11. The link to that period is that all the world’s best physicians and all the world’s heathen wizards could not cure his non-stop hiccupping. It was a further nail in the coffin of my scepticism in a religious belief that somehow one would end up in a heaven if only one could stop masturbating, thereby committing a mortal sin worthy of eternal hellfire or a Dante inferno. (each time)

If God could not stop the representative of Him here on earth halt a simple hiccup, how could us mere mortals prevent committing mortal sins which felt so good and… so…compulsive and feel so… lovely?

I remember it being a totally revealing and unshackling insight at that time. (there is a lot there) That’s when I took that photo.

 deep-thought during PiusX11

deep-thought during PiusX11

Tags: ,

18 Responses to “Between Pius X11 hiccups and scanner.”

  1. petspeopleandlife Says:

    I had a printer about 7 years ago and lost one cord or something or the other. I gave the printer to a young woman who worked at Pets Mart and she said her husband had it up and running in no time. I have not bought another printer or a scanner and will not unless I can “find” someone who knows how to hook all those dang wires up and then make it work.

    I’m happy to see that you had help to get yours up to speed and that it’s doing the job that you expected.

    Like

  2. M-R Says:

    Your setup is beginning to resemble mine. Oh how I wish I’d taken a shot of it before I had it moved from one room to another ! Trop tard maintenant. I remain impressed by your self-teaching, and wish I was as good as you are.
    You always looked like a Dutchman. [grin]

    Like

  3. gerard oosterman Says:

    No, not good, a sure applicant for the inferno.

    Like

  4. Adrian Oosterman Says:

    Geez, is that Milo on the deck with you ? He must be 50yrs old by now. Re scanning, I have a $50 printer that comes with copying and scanning. No problem

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, that’s Milo. He is about 9 years now. Yes, I bought my Canon printer- scanner for $49.-. The bloody USB cable cost a third of that at $18.-
      The scannert comes with a bewildering number of options,, including making Chrismas cards. It does’nt de-frost lamb cutlets. I noticed the first Christmas junk is out already.

      Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Oh, I get it. The photo on the deck is Bluey. A cattle dog we had then/ Milo is the one under the table.

      Like

  5. ChristineR Says:

    “The table was used for pattern making and sewing as the table has little indentions in its wooden top of a serrated little wheel traditionally used in copying the paper pattern onto the material or vice versa (don’t ask why or how!)”

    Just in case someone asks …
    I’ve got one of those little wheelie things in my sewing basket. I used it for marking sewing lines on material, using carbon paper (I think). Especially used for marking darts (usually triangular sections of material sewn together to give shape) if one decides not to use tailor tacks or chalk marks.

    Computer leads … I have to put tags with names on mine. I have more leads than power points in my powerboard, so I like to know what I’m turning off to plug in the printer. My latest is from Dick Smiths, $80, print, scan, fax (I don’t even use fax but now I can if I want) and it has wi-fi which will be handy if I print something from hubby’s computer or the laptop. We now have separate tables. Our lounge looks like a home office!🙂

    Like

  6. gerard oosterman Says:

    Yes, I think we had this little tailor wheel many years ago together with a knitting machine. When our kids were small we often made their clothes.
    The knitting machine was great and I loved using it. A whole row would get knitted in one movement of the arm and another with the arm going back.. H would sew clothes on her machine.. A hive of industry!
    Do people still knit or sew?

    Like

  7. Andrew Says:

    We went wifi a while back and it is a good thing when it works. And mostly it does. But often the laptop says “cannot find printer”. I mean, why not? It’s right next to you. How difficult can it be? It normally involves switching things off and on again. Several times. And then it works. But you don’t have a cable to lose. What a decision, eh? Cable or no cable?

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      For a long tome we had a bad telephone line and internet access. Our provider was Optus (Sing-tel) and after advice installed Wi-Fi. It was terrible and were told our house was in a ‘shadow’. We also had an iron roof and therefore the Wi-Fi gadget would be better placed outside our house. We did as advised and put it in our Manchurian pear tree. ‘The higher the better, the Optus man advises.

      Finally I used a ladder to put it as high as possible and shouted at Helvi upstairs asking ‘ how many bars are showing’?
      Every now and then when there was no connection I would climb the ladder and re-adjust the Optus Wi Fi gadget. It went on and on but we stayed fit through all the tree climbing.

      I finally broke the two year contract and switched to Telstra and now use ADSL (whatever that means) It works perfectly and is cheaper. No more WI-FI.

      Like

      • Andrew Says:

        I remember my father adjusting the TV aerial on the roof. He would shout down the chimney and my mother would shout back up when the picture was stable. None of this digital, cable broadband rubbish.

        Like

  8. Red Hen Says:

    Oh, if you think hiccuping Popes are alarming, you haven’t watched the Borgias! Plenty of insight there into all the special powers popes used to have, though somewhat before Pius`s time.

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, Red Hen. Nothing surprises me anymore when it comes to religeon. We are lucky to have gotten away with our lives. Even so, I think the latest pope is at least going for peace and a better deal for Palestine.
      Most people now would not know a hiccupping pope from an abusing priest even if they bumped into one.

      Like

  9. Curt Mekemson Says:

    Always entertaining… My head is still whirling over how you managed to work hiccuping popes and masturbation into a blog on scanning. But I get the cable bit. Before I switched to a laptop– long ago and far away, I had a myriad of cables to deal with. Now I have one that connects my laptop to my printer scanner and I don’t have to worry about hiccuping popes. –Curt

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lottie Nevin Says:

    Sometimes I just feel like throwing in the towel and going back to papyrus. Thank God that Irish is 1,000 light years ahead of me when it comes to technology😉

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      My son is like Irish. I ask him to show the magic of how to do IT stuff. Each time he does it so quickly I still don’t get it. However, show me a saucepan with some butter and milk et voila; golden pancakes with fig jam.

      Like

  11. kaytisweetlandrasmussen83 Says:

    I laughed at this one Gerard. Silicon Valley needs to get to work trying to solve the cable mess. I have a new Canon printer/scanner/fax which I hate. I have hated it since I bought it on sale for 99.00. I was allowing it to run out of ink and then go buy another, but needed something printed, so loaded it up again with ink, and now will have to wait again before I can say goodbye. We never learn do we?

    Like

Leave a Reply

