A life delete or not?

First flush of love

First flush of love


anxious already then

anxious already then

Australia is under attack from the conservatives. The obvious question; why conserve them in the first place? Isn’t a good conserve something locked in a jar with a screw top lid? I am surprised that a political party is proud to be named ‘conservative’. Do those that have died or in the process of doing so, belong to them? I mean, surely being alive is to progress along something or other. I am not usually given to philosophising, but after the remnants of the Vienna sourdough with fig and ginger conserve, am now in a mood that is mellow, gentle and reflective.

There are so many photos in my Window’s 8.1 explorer that I have taken to deleting those that I can’t remember ever having put there. I suspect that Windows is trawling through my posts and willy-nilly extrapolate something that one could then vaguely be pictorially be associated with. It is as hard to delete the pictures as it is to look at and sorting, checking any e-mails. One gets lost in the sheer monotony of pushing a delete button. A bit like watching a petrol bowser tick over when filling the tank on a rainy Sunday afternoon. I mean a button to ‘delete’? Is it perhaps a kind of subtracting of life segments.

After deleting some I came to photos of my parents. One picture just before the war in the flush of early love and without us kids. The other photo in our house around 1988 or so during a holiday back in Australia after they had returned to Holland many years before in 1976. An entire life in between. Perhaps you have seen the photos before. Old photo gazing does brings back things, doesn’t it?

DSCN2808

One reason for their return was that their Dutch pension would be a lot better, more generous and not means tested. About 80% of average wages. But…the other and main reason was to be near their schizophrenic son Frank who had already been living in Holland as well.

The picture of those two in tub with my mother are Frank at the back and I at the front during WW2 in Rotterdam.

Pensioners whooping it up in Australia

Pensioners whooping it up in Australia

Tags: , ,

18 Responses to “A life delete or not?”

  1. M-R Says:

    You wouldn’t throw out any of these, surely ??? No, you must be referring to others. Your hair’s good.😉 Frank is really sad: how do these things come about (rhetorical question) ?

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      No, but …I do have the hard copies. Boxes of them. Frank did suffer severe malnutrition and Pleurisy while still a baby. Who knows?

      Like

      • M-R Says:

        I feel the malnutrition would be the culprit … Causes all sorts of appalling things in later life.
        It’s best to keep the scans, Gerard – the originals will kark one day. But they need to be scanned BETTER !

        Like

      • gerard oosterman Says:

        I should get a scanner but does anyone know about the skill needed for setting it up? I shall probably get my son to set it up.

        Like

  2. gerard oosterman Says:

    I just photographed the photographs with my little Nikon.
    Frank is still alive!

    Like

  3. Lottie Nevin Says:

    Gerard, hang on to every photo/scan that you have for dear life. Do NOT delete!

    Fifteen years ago I made a short art film about my mother using photographs of her from her childhood up until when she died (aged 47). The box of photographs was in the back of my car when it was stolen including the disk with the film on it. I did not have my own computer then so everything was lost.

    Like

  4. rod Says:

    No doubt you will have photographs which are not worth keeping, which you will not miss if deleted. As for the others, hard copies are fine – though we lost a boxful of those when flitting and still regret them. Lottie’s story is sad, and suggests to me having some sort of back-up.

    I scanned most of my shots and improved quite a few in photoshop.
    They now live in a series of CDs within an album.

    Last year, when my wife hit a significant miletsone, a made her a photobook of her life, which she likes a lot.

    I also converted old 8mm films into video and edited them, adding sound, which used to be my role in life.

    Like

  5. gerard oosterman Says:

    The photographs that I gleaned (stole) from the google images are mainly the ones I want to delete. Often they must have copyright because delving back in earlier pieces many of the photos have gone. Is there some kind of automatic erasing going on in photos that have a copyright attached? Does this trawl through the complete www and erase them? I don’t actually understand how photos that have copyright get into the Google domain anyway. Does google steal them too?

    Like

  6. Andrew Says:

    Control – Alt – Do not delete. Family photos are always worth preserving. Some make me sad, some smile but I wouldn’t part with any of them.

    Like

  7. Curt Mekemson Says:

    My photos on my Apple now number in the thousands. But gradually I have been organizing them. The old ones, Gerard, are always the most precious. I would never delete them. As for the rest, I delete the mistakes. Scanning is easy, almost plug and play. –Curt

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, that is a relief and I shall get a simple scanner today from ‘The Good Guys’. That is if there are such a good thing as ‘Good Guys’?

      GG are a very large electronic consortium here in Australia.

      Like

  8. hilarycustancegreen Says:

    I am increasingly addicted to photos. Love yours.

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes. I shall scan the photos because doing it by photographing them by a hand held camera and then loading them into the camera is a bit silly. (so I am told)
      My parents looked so happy in that first photo!

      Like

  9. petspeopleandlife Says:

    I can’t add anything here except that I agree with what all the other commenters have written. Old photos are precious and a have boxes and boxes of them just like many of the other commenters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

