The Vienna ‘sourdough.’

On the farm in winter 1975.

On the farm in winter 1975.

Like most Sundays at around 10am a trip to the local Harris Farm Markets is undertaken. Sometimes on foot but today by car. It is to buy a lovely crusty sourdough bread, unsliced and still warm in brown paper bag. Usually, shortcomings in our larder are also then bought. We had no potatoes nor milk and a most vital food, Sesame oil. I don’t know how we survived before the discovery of that precious oil. A few drops in almost anything except tea and coffee enhances life totally. A small bottle lasts years. It also prevents superfluous boldness and reckless attitudes.

As I parked the car I noticed a woman lowering herself from a huge double storey car. You know those awesome wagons with 4wd and Diesel written on them and with bull bars that would make a rhinoceros cower under an elephant or large umbrella. They have external grab rails to hoist yourself up and sometimes even a fold-down small ladder. They do frighten me. One almost expects the driver high up behind the wheel to produce a machine gun at any time and spray bullets over naughty little cars.

After the lady had extracted herself from this large vehicle she walked towards the entrance of the shop. She was very brown. If you squeezed your eyes and combined her with the large vehicle the image of a disposed dictator from Bolivia wasn’t far off. I had just fastened our Jack Russell Milo to a handrail that runs along the front of the entrance. She, as almost everyone else does, took a look down to Milo, smiled (never to me) and patted him. The lady wore horse-riding pants. You know those pants, they have a sturdy piece of material stitched on the inside of the legs. I suppose to prevent the horse from wearing the pants out before their time is up. But, as Bowral is a rather horsey place, I wonder if some want to be seen of having reached that upper echelon of ‘having arrived’. They wear the pants, almost as if to say; look at me, I have a horse(s) but what about you?
Perhaps I am just nasty or jealous but having a horse right now is least on my wish list. A crusty Vienna will do.

Alas no horses, but I do have a little Milo that I can hitch onto the rail. Perhaps I left horses too late. I’ll now never reach a level where I can wear pants stitched with sturdy material on the inside of my legs nor drive huge tanks.

PS. I now remember we did have horses. A couple of Shetland ponies in Holland during 1973-76. Lovely horses not unlike Jack Russell really. Very strong and with minds of their own. Our kids used to ride them as they did their bikes to school. Oh, those times back then! I can see them still. Don’t go there now Gerard. It is a sunny Sunday.

Addendum;
I received a few inquiries from overseas regarding Margaret Rose Stringers evocative, funny and loving memoire; here a link to Amazon as well as Fremantle press.
http://www.fremantlepress.com.au/books/1371
http://www.amazon.com/And-Then-Like-My-Dreams/dp/1922089028

Tags: , , , , ,

23 Responses to “The Vienna ‘sourdough.’”

  1. Peter Says:

    Gerard, I love your attitude to life. You can smell bullshit, because you have been around.

    Crusty “Vienna ‘sour dough” is one of the joy of life. The “rich” are
    rather pour as they can’t enjoy the simpler things in life.

    Like

  2. auntyuta Says:

    Peter and I, we love sour dough bread too. We like it sliced however. Enjoy your sunny Sunday, Gerard. Down here in Dapto it’s sunny too. We are about to get ready to have some afternoon coffee and cake!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      We were on our walk this morning with Milo and getting hungry. Helvi suggested we share a lunch somewhere but then we remembered the crusty Vienna sourdough and went home. We had three thick slices each. Yummm.

      Like

    • auntyuta Says:

      We just had some cheesecake, which was much, much too sweet for me and tasted rather fatty too ( probably baked with cream cheese rather than quark). I am looking forward to eating something more savoury tonight. Sour dough bread would be nice! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. M-R Says:

    I’M LIKING THE POST, NOT THE LAST BIT, OK????!
    I wish I liked sourdough more. I appear to be the sole person in the world who isn’t a sourdough fan – much as my younger sister feels herself to be the sole person in the world who likes Windows 8. [grin]
    As for the woman in the riding pants – PFUH ! I wave my finger under her nose in dismissal.

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, don’t get me going on Windows 8. I just about lost the will to live.😉 (sobbing with rage)I now have an upgrade to 8.1 which at least has a start button. I got an expert in, even he shook his head.
      As for sourdough, at least I now know how to spell the word without hyphenating, syllabification or hyperventilating.

      Like

      • M-R Says:

        Paula was telling me on the ‘phone about 8.1; she reckons that it looks exactly like 7 now. Gives one pause …

        Like

  4. M-R Says:

    But I do thank you, Gerard; you review has been included in my Media page, with huge pleasure. And this last post is extremely welcome – like, EXTREMELY. :-\
    Yer OK, you know that ?

    Like

  5. Lottie Nevin Says:

    Funnily enough I used to be able to get an excellent good sour-dough in Jakarta. There was a small bakery owned and run by a french woman and her Indonesian husband and I’d make a weekly pilgrimage there to buy Irishman’s bread. It was only a few miles away as the crow flies from our apartment but because of the notorious Jakarta traffic it would take the entire morning to get there and back. How’s that for love?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. gerard oosterman Says:

    Great love story Lottie. A sourdough carried through Jakarta traffic is worthy of Irishman’s unstinting love and boundless affection.

    Like

  7. Curt Mekemson Says:

    I can taste the sourdough. Send some my way. Never been much on horses or large SUVs. Milo is more my speed. –Curt

    Like

  8. chris hunter Says:

    The news is good Gerard. Wearing your new crutch-reinforced riding breeches whilst pushing the supermarket trolly for H could set a trend around the Bowral region. You can do it, I can see Milo nodding his head.

    Like

  9. Lonia Says:

    ik heb in de 70er jaren leren zuurdesembrood maken in de Runstraat in Amsterdam. Heerlijk. Mooie foto!!!!!!

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Helvi’s moeder maakte het zuurdesembrood wekelijks voor de hele familie in ‘n enorm grote hout- oven 9fornuis) twee meter diep. Met ‘n lange stok and lepel werd het deeg diep in die oven gestopt.
      Het was heerlijk.
      Hoe is het met je?

      Like

  10. hilarycustancegreen Says:

    Amazon.com doesn’t work for UK deliveries, I shall have to be patient.

    Like

Leave a Reply

