Getting up is so hard to do.

images16V8MKAUbrewing coffee

I jumped out of bed today at 6.10 am feeling optimistic and unusually ebullient. I ground some fresh coffee beans bought at Aldi’s labelled as ‘Fair Trade’ coffee. Fair trade means not manufactured or grown by workers paid a miserable two dollars a day. I put the water on to boil on the gas. I am still gushing over having got rid of the electric kettle helping to reduce the burning of dirty coal which in Australia makes us the biggest Co2 polluters per capita in the world. At least, the ‘fair trade’ coffee with water boiled on gas instead of electricity will just have to do and ease me into the morning without too much further soul searching.

The water kettle I now use even has a whistle. I always loved a whistling kettle as I do a ticking clock. The clock I grew up with had loud ticking and chimed every half hour. It had to be wound up once a month. My dad’s job was the winding of the clock. Whenever there were complaints of dad not doing enough domestic stuff, he would reply; ” yes but who does the winding-up of the clock around this household?” He made it sound as if he was building an airport or an oilrig in Antarctica.

There was a large key with a square hole that fitted around the square pin that wound up a large spring driving the mechanical part of the clock. Amazing invention really.The romance has gone out of time pieces now as it has out of the simple telephone. Remember the comforting sound of a slow ringing telephone? Today, over twelve million people a year get hit by trucks, cars, trains and other modes of vehicles while staring at their mobile devices. I wish I knew what people are so busy with on their mobile phones. What urgent messages are being ‘downloaded’ when crossing the road or jumping on trains, catching aeroplanes. Do people check their text messages when having sex? Is texting in public proof of being part of the world, being busy and engaged with whatever stuff that is going on, being alive?

I have a mobile phone but for some reason I fear its insistent ringing. I get all tense and apprehensive. The television script writers now routinely have strange buzzing or vibrating sounding phones going off in the dark, thus adding a mysterious tension to the murder story- thriller. They are onto the fact that mobile devices going off in films increase ratings enormously. They do seem to install a kind of nervous expectation and rising excitement in the story. A bit like canned laughter in comedies.

There is something wrong to have a world where so much depends on answering or texting, downloading all the messages that one might have missed. I have withdrawn message service as a first step to try and go without it. I have also given back my E-Tablet after it swallowed my sim-card and I was unable to retrieve it. The marital tension it caused just trying to set it up. It almost came to blows๐Ÿ˜‰ Aldi is fantastic with the sixty day money back guarantee. I happily stuck my $ 249.00 back in the wallet. Never again another gadget. Perhaps a new electric coffee grinder or juice extractor but no more phones, smart or otherwise, with or without Apps.

Only last week, during watching American Hustles in the cinema, our mobile phone went off. A very embarrassing moment. I quickly pressed the red button that stops answering. I don’t know how to switch off the phone. I studied the booklet and push the ‘switch’ button but it doesn’t switch off. Anyway, we rarely get a call. Ten minutes later during the same film, another call. Again I pushed the red button. After the third call, I left. Not easy leaving a row of patrons keen to watch a movie. The polite way and good etiquette is to face the patrons…but I feel a bit funny passing by with my pant’s zipper inches from their keen faces, almost like an indecent offering. Passing the other way is not much better with your bum even closer to their faces. Anyway, the movie wasn’t much good. H stayed behind because the phone is always in my pocket. Women are clever they don’t have pockets. It was so embarrassing.

In the meantime my coffee has now settled, ready to be poured.

Tags: , , , ,

20 Responses to “Getting up is so hard to do.”

  1. berlioz1935 Says:

    Good story and Vonnegut would say, “…and so it goes”.
    Thanks for the music, too.

    Like

  2. auntyuta Says:

    Ya, thanks for the music. It’s great to listen to such lively music.๐Ÿ™‚

    Maybe you can ask your children how to switch off the b . . . . phone. It seems we oldies rely on our children to teach us everything there is to know about these gadgets.

    Peter often urges me to get my own phone. I say: No, no way. For instance I cannot wear my glasses at all times (The make me feel dizzy!) and without the glasses I just wouldn’t know what to do with the phone. For me a phone with enormously large easy to see buttons would have to be invented, a phone that I can use as easily as a land line phone.

    Why do they have to make the phones smaller and smaller? Ah, I get it, they have to fit into every ones pockets! Or the phone has to be small enough so you can hold it in your hand continuously.

    Like

  3. gerard oosterman Says:

    Yes, in the early days the phones were very large and had easy too read numbers. Now the numbers are by touch and so are the key pads. No wonder the world is all mangled up. A WW 3 could easily start by a wrong letter or number.
    People feel all lonely if they don’t have enough apps. I feel lonely with having apps.
    My advice would be to have an apple instead.

    Like

  4. Andrew Says:

    So much good sense here Gerard but if I gave up texting how would I communicate with Mrs.Ha when I lose her in the supermarket? Her phone is always on silent so she doesn’t hear it but for some reason she does detect a text. Now ticking clocks and whistling kettles sound like great ideas to bring back. But a digital clock can doubtless be programmed to produce a tick sound. Not sure what happens if you put a key in it or attach a pendulum. Perhaps, just perhaps, the modern world is not for the likes of us.

    Like

  5. rod Says:

    I have read that many injuries are caused by people with smartphones walking into lamp-posts.

    Recently a woman with her eyes on a smartphone was walking towards me. I stopped. She walked into me.
    Must I do all the work?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lottie Nevin Says:

    I’m still giggling about your description of having to get past people in the cinema. I’ve always wondered what the etiquette was – is it more polite to sidle past with my front bum inches from their faces or my back bum? – either way, let’s face it, it is rather ‘in your face’. do you think there is anyone that we can ask Gerard?

    As for the damn mobile phones, I bought a new sim card when I came to Spain and it used up all the credit in a couple of days, just being switched on – anyway i was so miffed, i topped it up again and then the same thing happened. I’ve given up now – if anyone wants to speak to me they can skype or email me and I’ll call them from my laptop – I use my phone now as a radio and camera and that’s it.

    It is embarrassing when one’s mobile rings somewhere where it should be switched off – it happened to me at the National Gallery in London last year and I got an earful from one of the security people – sometimes I find those galleries a little too quite, all those hushed whispers, maybe the odd phone ringing isn’t such a bad thing?

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, I often thought it strange that people have to be quiet in art galleries. I would have thought people would be allowed to react. I mean, we clap after a nice concert hoping for an encore.
      I reckon people are just copying each other.
      Years ago I remember poms migrating to Australia. Back in the late fifties, most would not see their relatives ever again. Yet, stiff upper lip; “bye John, bye dad”, “write to your mother, will you,” ” Yes, see you, bye then.”
      A few days later at Messina in Italy, raging howling by the relatives, unbelievable scenes of grief, unrelenting. Whole villages were seeing their sons out. As the boat left its moorings, people were besides themselves, the sobbing and crying heard for miles away from the fading shore.
      Different cultures! I wonder if people are so quiet in Spanish art galleries?

      Like

  7. Lottie Nevin Says:

    P.s When I first saw your post title, I thought it read ‘Getting it up is so hard to do’ – I thought, ‘hello, is our Gerard writing a post on impotence?’ in which case it may be a little too early in the morning to read this – I’m glad I misread it๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  8. gerard oosterman Says:

    Yes, I thought you would think that. Great minds think alike. I did write an article on impotence, here it is:
    https://oosterman.wordpress.com/erectile-dysfunctional-benefits/

    Like

  9. Patti Kuche Says:

    I think most people are using their phones to play Candy Crush.

    Like

  10. kaytisweetlandrasmussen83 Says:

    I am impressed by anyone who can jump out of bed at 6:10 refreshed and raring to go. Good on you Gerard.

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Yes, but Milo jumping against the bed (always on my side) does help. His enthusiasm know no bounds.

      Like

    • berlioz1935 Says:

      Right you are. When I wake up in the morning I’m not ready to get up. In fact, I wonder whether I should get up at all. The eternal sleep seems to be a better prospect than what is in store for me that day. Of course I have no pooch to gives me a wakeup call and whose enthusiasm would inspire me.

      Like

  11. hilarycustancegreen Says:

    I had to laugh. Our generation got hit with too much technology too fast. The next lot will take it in their stride โ€“ though it sounds as though not many of them will make it across the street. Very soothing music.

    Like

  12. Big M Says:

    Gez, I. Just stumbled onto this., months down the track. I’m the same with the mobile. “What the f(#*+is that?”

    “Your mobile, darling.”

    “Quick, someone answer the f+*#in thing!!”

    “It’s your phone, darling!”

    “Oh, shit, it’s a f*#(in text message, tell we’re not here!!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

