Paxman interviews Russell Brand

I really enjoyed this post. Notice the condescending attitude of the BBC interviewer. Geez, it was dripping from him!

Poli.V

Paxman asks how do you have any authority if you don’t vote?
“I don’t need the right [to be involved in politics] from you, I don’t need the right from anybody, I’m taking it.”
“I don’t get my authority from this pre-existing paradigm which is quite narrow and only serves a few people, I look elsewhere for alternatives that might be of service to humanity – alternate means alternative political systems.”
• Shoudn’t destroy the planet
• Shouldn’t create massive economic disparity
• Shouldn’t ignore needs of people
The burden of proof is on the people with power.
I’m not voting out of apathy, I’m not voting out of absolute indifference and weariness and exhaustion from the lies treachery deceit of the political class that has been going on for generations now and which now reached fever pitch where we have a disenfranchised, disillusioned, despondent underclass that is not being…

View original post 183 more words

8 Responses to “Paxman interviews Russell Brand”

  1. Rosie Says:

    Watched this last week and loved the passion from this young man – ah that he could influence other young people to shake off their apathy. Gerard, I enjoy this blog very much but have to say I definitely do not enjoy the nastiness that comes through so often in comments on the Pigs Arms blog anymore. I find it so sad that people fill their hours with so much hatred.

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Thank you Rosie,

      I found Russell Brand to be very quick on his feet in answering the very polished but hugely condescending interviewer.
      I understand the reluctance in going to the Pig’s Arms. There are just a couple of trolls who seem determined to wreck the place.
      A pity.

      Like

  2. Rosie Says:

    Another point – I just read your piece called “A Frank Story” – don’t know why I missed it for so long. Very interesting as I have often wondered why you and Helvi might still prefer Australia to Holland as a place to live. I did not realise that Dutch society was so ordered. I remember Balmain well in the late 60s – what a great place it was then. You and Helvi have had an interesting and varied life together.

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Glad you found Frank’s story interesting. It was my first attempt at writing. Previous to that I painted but storing unsold works was a problem, especially with large sizes that I seemed drawn to. Words take less space and I enjoy letting them out.
      Yes, our life has been interesting. Most times the joy out-weighed sadness.
      How about you, Rosie? Has it been a good journey so far?

      Like

      • Rosie Says:

        Yes it has Gerard. I have to compare it to the many in the world who know nothing but despair, hunger, disease and war. So I move through life as best I can, thankful that I live in this fortunate country. Sadness? Yes, some. So sometimes I take big steps and sometimes little ones.

        Like

  3. hilarycustancegreen Says:

    Amazing interview! Here in the UK we are totally accustomed to Jeremy Paxman’s style; condescension just comes with the character, but he does keep politicians on their toes and he has a mind like a razor. I too enjoyed Brand’s passion, and like Jeremy, I don’t disagree with his concerns (though I find this assumption that ALL politicians are corrupt absurd). I was sad that they never managed to have the discussion that was on offer – if you don’t vote, do you still have the right to reject the people in power and do you really want all that a revolution implies as an alternative to voting? The people in power (at least in the UK and Australia) are there because people voted for them. So it is we, the voters, who are short-sighted, self-serving etc and not voting is the equivalent of saying I accept whoever gets in.

    Like

    • gerard oosterman Says:

      Here we have compulsory voting enforced by penalty which puts us with a few countries that have dubious pasts or present governments.
      Looking around I find that some of the most equitable governments and countries seem to be those that have, by and large, social democratic systems in place.
      I read that over sixty % of the Norwegian oil profits end up with Norway, whose biggest problem now seems to be they have too much money. It now has the world’s largest pension fund.
      Here in Australia the new Liberal government is doing away with the mining tax altogether, together with the carbon tax.
      In America I find the reluctance to health insurance mind boggling. I don’t understand. It is thought of as communism creeping up!

      Like

  4. hilarycustancegreen Says:

    I can’t believe (well I can’t believe a lot of things, but in this case) the blindness about the mining and carbon tax. I have just read the chapter on Australia in Jared’s Diamond’s book Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed. It is fascinating about the continent, and its challenges are not what I expected – but they are huge. However America’s blindness makes even less sense, I agree.

    Like

Leave a Reply

